April building, on and off the bike

Its has been a busy month.

My wife and I have been planning and dreaming of a pergola (an open, unattached patio cover) for some time. Since I can’t use the “I don’t know how” excuse anymore with her so we decided I could build it. We started on it the second weekend of April and over the course of a couple weekends we got it put in.

It went from this...

It went from this…

to this...

to this…

to finally this.

to finally this.

My carpentry skills are still very rudimentary but they get the job done. There are a few things we want to do to improve it – I already built the noise baffle by the air conditioner unit – but we should get most of that done this Sunday. After that it is time to sit and enjoy it.

If it ever stops snowing. Good grief.

On the bike, it has been good. The construction work and a short stint of night and weekend duty have taken a toll on my training but I can still quantify improvements. Thank you Strava for making it easy to see performance ebb and flow.

I am racing this weekend in the marathon at Tranquility. They have a 50+ division so maybe, juuuust maybe, I’ll come away with some cash. We’ll see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

